Author Topic: CB750 idle problems....  (Read 9722 times)

Offline J.Webster Designs

• Expert
  • www.JWebsterDesigns.com
CB750 idle problems....
« on: November 13, 2008, 05:52:41 pm »
Hey guys, I'm new to the scene. I just bought a CB750 for 450 bucks yesterday. Well, today I got to work and have it starting on first try every time and idling continuously. however, I am experiencing an issue with it the I'm not 100% certain about and would like to see what you guys think about it.

The bike starts fine now, it will idle around 1300RPM when you blip the throttle off idle above about 2500 it immediately jumps to 4000 RPM and stays there and wont go back down. At first I thought that I might have some sticky carb valves. But when you open them WOT and let go you can hear them shut.(click closed). I'm thinking that its tuning but I have never experienced something like this just from tuning. I was thinking that it might also be ignition. But I don't think its likely.... What do you guys think???

Here is a quick video to show what is happening. ( bike started, idle, throttle blipped, high idle, shut down)

VISIT OUR WEBSITE!

www.JWebsterDesigns.com

FOLLOW US ON SOCIAL MEDIA!

Facebook:
www.facebook.com/JWebsterDesigns

Instagram:
www.instagram.com/j.websterdesigns

Offline KRONUS0100

• MAD MATT THE MANIAC
  • Expert
Re: CB750 idle problems....
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2008, 06:37:38 pm »
use ether and check for air leaks at the intake boots at idel............then get the carbs synchronized....this is a usual indication on everything I've worked on.    Could be a real faint possible that ignition advance springs are weak.
MATT
current bikes:  1976 CB750F, 1981 GS1100E
bikes owned:1981 GL1100I, 1990 GS500E, 1981 GS850, 1977 and 1979 GS750, 1974 CB750, 1975 CB750, and a 1982 GS750E

• Expert
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2008, 06:44:01 pm »
that video was taken with the air box off the carbs.
VISIT OUR WEBSITE!

www.JWebsterDesigns.com

Facebook:

Instagram: