Author Topic: 78 cb750 having problems - idles but stalls with throttle  (Read 13993 times)

Offline kine8282

• Enthusiast
  • "Ceteris paribus, my modis operandi is carpe diem"
78 cb750 having problems - idles but stalls with throttle
« on: December 27, 2008, 06:00:03 pm »
I just picked up a 78 cb750K. It idles fine but as soon as I pull the thorttle back the engine, it doesnt surge up it just dies. I pulled the airbox to check since it almost sounds like the motor is making a "sucking" sound. Not obstructions so I tried to run the motor sans airbox and the bike idles but again dies as soon as i try the throttle. Any ideas before I get into tearing the carbs down?

The bike was the PO's daily or atleast that was what I was told. I've worked on a 75 cb550 before this cb750 so i've got some experience but the 750 are different so if anyone can give me a steap by step as to what to check that would be awesome...
1975 CB550K aka "Nefertiti"
1978 CB750K aka "Kate"

Offline thrownchain

Re: 78 cb750 having problems - idles but stalls with throttle
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2008, 06:31:46 pm »
Check to see if something is living in the exhaust system. If not, next time it's running, spray carb cleaner or something similar around the carb boots, between the carb and head. If it revs up your carb boots are leaking air and need to be replaced.  Also check the ignition timing just to make sure that's with in spec. Do that then get back to me.

Offline kine8282

• Enthusiast
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2008, 07:08:36 pm »
ill try that...interesting, i thought that the carbs were not the constant velocity types...like on the older Yammys
1978 CB750K aka "Kate"

eldar

« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2008, 07:58:58 pm »
They are not cv carbs. The spray trick is to check for air leaks. Have you done any work on the bike? If not, then you need to start there. Give us a history of the work you have done. Your carbs are most likely all crudded up.

Offline kine8282

• Enthusiast