Author Topic: 1980 cb650c not charging (I did my reading)  (Read 6093 times)

Modest_Man

1980 cb650c not charging (I did my reading)
« on: June 23, 2009, 11:24:18 am »
Hey guys,

Just recently bought my first bike, 1980 cb650c.  It had been sitting for two years so I got it running, runs like a champ for 30 minutes then dies.  Came on here and did tons of reading, went out and bought myself a multimeter to test my electrical system.  I'm new to motorcycles and electrical systems, so bear with me if I did something wrong or leave out vital information.

Bought a new battery (old one was toast).  Trickle charged it until it was full, voltage reads 13.5V.  Battery is good.

After letting the bike warm up I turn on the high beam and rev the engine to 5k rpm, voltage reads 11.68V.  Definitely not charging.  Turned everything off and disconnected the battery ground.

Tested the stator, going yellow wire to yellow wire.  Resistance reads 1.1-1.2 ohm between the three of them.  Manual says .41-.51 is the specified resistance.  Going all 5 terminals to ground I get no reading (multimeter manual says when the input is at open circuit the figure "1" will be displayed for the overrange condition).  I think that's what I want, not quite sure on the 5 terminals to ground.

Tested the continuity rotor, got a resistance reading of .5 ohm between the two slip rings.  (Book says .4-.5 ohms is good).  Checked between the slip rings and center core (do I need to remove the bolt securing the rotor to test this?  If so I did not test this correctly.  The center core sticks out slightly so I just prodded it with the multimeter with the bolt in.)  Multimeter showed no reading (the "1"), so overrange which I'm assuming is infinity.  If I did this correctly I think the rotor checked out.

For the voltage regulator/rectifier I got no reading for every test I did.  Green to the three yellows and reversed, as well as red/white to yellow.