Author Topic: Timing cam on CB550 - need clarification (done and done)  (Read 9256 times)

Offline mikethejeepguy

• Enthusiast
Timing cam on CB550 - need clarification (done and done)
« on: July 25, 2009, 09:49:13 am »
Bike: 1976 CB550F

So I pieced the motor together at 2am after tripple checking everything according to the manual and after starting it, it ran like %##. Now I wonder if after all my reading and tripple checking I have my cam 180 degrees out of phase. Reading through posts on here and the manual, I seem to be getting conflicting information.

Here is what I did...  Facing the bike from the right hand side (rear wheel to my left, front to the right)
As per the manual: Cyl. 1 & 4 at TDC (leftmost mark above the T F) and the notch on the cam (on the right side of motor ) parallel with the head surface (pointing to the front wheel a.k.a. 3 o'clock) as per this picture...

In this image, I assume the bike's front wheel to be to the right of the image (3 o'clock).

Now reading some posts on here...  people talk about aligning the notch to 9 o'clock. Wouldn't that be toward the back wheel?

"cyls 1-4 at TDC, slot in the cam pointing at the 9th hour exactly"  (turboguzzi).
http://forums.sohc4.net/index.php?topic=55506.msg597519#msg597519

"Slide the sprocket on next, then set the shaft into its bearings.  Set the crank at TDC, the shaft notch at 9:00." (OldSchool_IsCool)
http://forums.sohc4.net/index.php?topic=55506.msg597766#msg597766

"There is a notch on the cam shaft (which should be on the right of the engine) which will line up with the engine casing at the rear at the front." (Sporkfly)
http://forums.sohc4.net/index.php?topic=48290.msg508233#msg508233

The manual I am working with is the CB500 Honda Service manual, with the CB550 supplement. Are the cam settings different for CB500 vs CB550? Please help I don't want to screw anything up. I just need clarification to which way to point the cam notch... back or front wheel?  :-\