Author Topic: Having serious issues riveting a cam chain. Advise needed  (Read 4104 times)

74cb550k

Having serious issues riveting a cam chain. Advise needed
« on: February 26, 2010, 06:53:01 am »
OK let me start by saying i have read over 3hrs of posts on this topic. I have the motion pro cam chain riveter, i bought all of the links and chain from z1enterprises. The bike is a 74 cb550K. I am a diesel/heavy duty tech by day so i do have some mechanical incite and am not a total idiot (up for debate). With that being said, this thing is kicking my A$$. So First off I have heard of "soft" rivets, i find it hard to believe there is anything "soft' about the rivets from Z1 I cannot for the life of me get he head of the rivet to flare or mushroom. Here is the sequence of what i am doing
First i have to drill the loose side plate just a little to get it to set on the male links "egging" it out just enough so i can press the plate on without requiring 6 hands.
Then I press the plates together as evenly as possible until the link plates are flush.
I then in a VERY slow even motion use the cam chain tool to push the plate in slightly as to expose the male ends of the link so i can mushroom them.
Here is where it all goes south. I set up the rivet tip and anvil on the cam chain tool and attempt to mushroom the rivet, but what really happens, is that the male end of the link does not "flare" or "mushroom" but it presses the complete link together before it even looks slightly indented on the rivet head. Then this makes the rivet WAY over tight and leaven the end of the rivet still not flared. I have spent probably 5 hours and 5 new rivet heads on this stupid cam chain. Now I have to buy MORE links and I am still not convinced that this is gonna work. If you know something i don't lemme know. Did you use a special rivet? Is there a better way to flare the link over? I wonder if my hydraulic brake line flaring tool would work?

Thanks

Offline Staggerlee

• Enthusiast