Author Topic: The Damn CB650 ignition  (Read 12437 times)

426hemi

The Damn CB650 ignition
« on: March 18, 2010, 07:00:01 pm »
   Sorry, folks.  Allow me to introduce myself.  I'm a 47 year old auto mechanic.  I've been working on cars for over 20 years, worked in a Honda dealership for 6 years.  When it comes to the things I love, I'm a picky SOB.  I want things perfect.
   I bought a CB650 on ebay a couple of years ago.  It was "lovingly restored" by a "retired engineer".  It looked shiny and new- so I paid more for it than the damn bike cost new.  The so-called "engineer" was a butcher. I was working on the thing the first week I had it home.
   Now understand, I REGRET NONE OF THIS.  I'm a man that is old enough to know better.  I messed up.  It certainly won't be my last mistake in life.  My problem is with the ignition system on this motorcycle.  The ignitor is made by OKI, a company that I am very familiar with from working on Honda automobiles.  MANY of this company's ignition products go (literally) hundreds of thousands of miles.  SOME of this company's ignition products barely go around the block.  To those of you "in the know", my CB650 ignitor has been reduced to the familiar "black goo" and behaves very erratically, when at all.
   I've corresponded with Mark ("Hondaman"), thoroughly researched the subject on THIS forum, and turned the internet inside-out in an attempt to find the BEST METHOD OF REPLACING THIS CRAP IGNITION SYSTEM WITH ONE THAT IS RELIABLE.  Any PROVEN, additional input would be GREATLY appreciated.  Thank You.

Online scottly

• Global Moderator
  • Really Old Timer ...
  • Humboldt, AZ
Re: The Damn CB650 ignition
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2010, 07:07:29 pm »
Sorry, I personally can't help with your problem. I can, however, welcome you to a wonderful forum.

Scott (413 wedge)
Don't fix it if it ain't broke!
Helmets save brains. Always wear one and ride like everyone is trying to kill you....

Offline Hush