Author Topic: Dim headlight brightens when revved, and a dead battery.  (Read 13933 times)

Offline zach9865

Dim headlight brightens when revved, and a dead battery.
« on: April 25, 2010, 06:39:02 pm »
Hi everybody!  I'm a noob here, which is probably obvious after reading the subject of my question.  I have a '77 Honda CB550F that I recently bought.  The PO said that it probably needed a new battery, so I went ahead and bought one.  Charged it up and I was ready to ride I thought.  So I cruised around for a while and while parking, noticed that the headlight was pretty dim at idle but brightened up considerably when I revved the engine.  I rode for another few miles in the next day or two not thinking much of it.  I went to start it up a day or two later and no juice.  No starter motor, no headlight, couldn't kickstart, no electrical power.  I'm pretty sure it's a problem in the charging sequence, but am unsure about where.  Reg/rectifier?  Does the headlight brightening when I rev it rule anything out?  Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks a lot!

Offline NickC

• Hot Shot
Re: Dim headlight brightens when revved, and a dead battery.
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2010, 06:47:13 pm »
Charge your battery, take voltage at battery
Start bike, take voltage at battery.

Let's see what you got from there  ;D

Offline Nikkisixx

• Expert
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2010, 06:49:17 pm »
Hi and welcome!  It might not mean anything that your light gets brighter at revs.  The system works better at  around 2500rpm, so this might indicate the system is working.

I hate to answer your question with a question but do you have a tester of some kind to troubleshoot your electrics?  Something like this:
http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/displayitem.taf?itemnumber=90899  
You may well need it to track down electrical gremlins.  
It is a proven fact that modifying a SOHC Honda in any way will bring on the apocalypse.

Offline zach9865

« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2010, 06:45:13 pm »