Author Topic: PAINTING WITH AEROSOL CANS 101  (Read 10772 times)

Offline bjb87gta

PAINTING WITH AEROSOL CANS 101
« on: May 16, 2010, 09:23:07 am »
I have seen a few posts on the board about painting, usually with spray cans. I am not an expert, but I have painted everything from model cars when I was 8 with a spray can, to spending over 25 years in the body shop business, painting cars and selling paint. I too have used a few rattle cans, and have made similar mistakes and have had the same issuses as some of you have posted here. Hopefully some of these tips will make things go a bit smoother for those who attempt some painting.

Most aerosol paints work OK, but a couple of things to look for when picking out your paint:

1 - Look at the directions. If you need to do all your painting within a certian amount of time, or wait to recoat, find something else. These are enamel type paints, and can have wrinkling issues when you apply your clear, and ruin all you efforts. If you are painting a kickstand, this type of paint will work fine.

2 - When looking for your paint, go to an automotive or auto body supply store and go for the actual "color of the car" paint in a spray can. These are usually a lacquer base type of paint, and dry fast, and can be sanded easily if you have a boo-boo.

3 - Some auto body supply stores also have the ability to custom make spray cans for you. This method is the most expensive, but will give you the best results. Pick out your color, and have them make it in a basecoat form, and put it in the spray can for you. This is just like the body shops spray, but now you have it in a spray can.