Author Topic: anyone have any experience with getting a title in ohio with bill of sale.  (Read 935 times)

Offline MasterChief750

• Detonation
  • Expert
theres a guy selling a parts bike mostly complete with a bill of sale only, im looking for a restoration project for next year and thought i would pick this up. just wondering if its worth the trouble of trying to get a title as i have had no experience with getting a title in ohio.
1978 CB750 K - Project Red Headed Step Child
1976 CB750 K - Drag Bike
Some things i know, others i dont.
I AM THE STIG
Sam is THE STIG
he said i can be STIG3 tho

Offline cobra2411

• Enthusiast
I'm about to start on this for another bike I have. The procedure is to get it registered out of state though an agent in a state that allows bill of sales, Maine is one such state. Maine doesn't title bikes older then 15 years. Once you have a registration you go to your DMV and tell them you have an out of state registration from a state that doesn't issue titles for older bikes. You'll have to fill out some paperwork and probably submit photos etc but you'll get a title.

Timing is an issue especially if it's a pile of parts but what I would do is wait till you're almost ready and get the out of state registration. Once you get it on the road and sorted out go for the in state title.

International Title in Nv is one place that I know that does this kind of work.

Offline myhondas

• Not really such a
  • Expert
I'm about to start on this for another bike I have. The procedure is to get it registered out of state though an agent in a state that allows bill of sales, Maine is one such state. Maine doesn't title bikes older then 15 years. Once you have a registration you go to your DMV and tell them you have an out of state registration from a state that doesn't issue titles for older bikes. You'll have to fill out some paperwork and probably submit photos etc but you'll get a title.