Author Topic: Stripped rocker arm shaft bolt.  (Read 4540 times)

Offline niels.d

Stripped rocker arm shaft bolt.
« on: March 04, 2011, 03:40:36 pm »
So I was mighty surprised when I took my valve cover off to find an incredibly clean, newly rebuilt engine with tight new chains, tensioners and sprockets inside, especially after how rough the exterior of my 72 CB750's engine was. So, looks like a rebuild isn't going to be in order. However, I encountered one big problem: one of the four bolts that keep the rocker arm shafts in place but allow them to still rotate is stripped. I noticed when it wouldn't tighten. I pulled out the bolt and saw a broken helicoil on the bottom. I am pretty new to the whole mechanics things and I'm not really exactly sure how helicoils work. Since the coil itself broke and came out with the screw, could I just put another helicoil on? Will it have to be tapped/drilled? Any other options out there for a stripped rocker arm shaft bolt?

bollingball

Re: Stripped rocker arm shaft bolt.
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2011, 04:39:26 pm »
Could be the PO used the wrong size drill. I would try to put another coil in get a good bolt and try to torque You may have to go next size over if you have room. Or maybe the coil was not long enough How do the threads look where the coil was? if the new coil gets tight you may be good to go.

Offline gane

• Gane
  • Enthusiast
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2011, 06:46:27 pm »