Author Topic: Alternative CR - style rear drum brakes?  (Read 6469 times)

Offline fang

• Hot Shot
    • Food Renegade
Alternative CR - style rear drum brakes?
« on: March 14, 2011, 03:42:09 pm »
Hi all, long time no see.
I am buying a new wheel set for the SOHC CB750. Going with Sun rims and stainless spokes+nipples. About $900+ from Buchanans if I lace it up myself.... Since they are cutting custom spokes and drilling the rims to fit, I figured this is as good time as any to change out the rear drum brake.

So why change the drum on a CB? Namely, this one is a pseudo CR750 race replica build, and the CR bikes had a big 240mm 2ls rear drum brake. I think the stock CB is about 178mm (and it sucks). Anyway, I have been shopping off and on for a CR rear hub for many years without success. I am not willing to drop $3600 for 3M Racing's "authentic" magnesium reproduction. Besides, for daily drivability practicality, I would prefer a "CR Style" drum made out of aluminum.

All that had been all but forgotten until earlier today when I almost bought the wheel set, only to remember the whole rear drum thing as I entered my card info at checkout.... LOL. So the purchase went on hold until I can sort out what I need to do with the rear hub.

Questions:
1. Does anyone know of a reasonably priced 2ls rear drum that could be an alternative, one in aluminum not mag. In all honesty, I cant even think of a machine with an aluminum 2ls rear hub assembly.
2. Another option I've considered but not really looked into is finding a 2ls front drum articulating plate and shoes that fit the CB750's rear hub/drum -- hopefully one with the speedo drive on the drum side. Any suggestions there?

CB750 rear brakes dimensions:
Width 39mm
Diameter 178.5mm
Axle 20mm