Author Topic: New project for a first timer CB550 build - Slowly getting back to it!  (Read 128704 times)

Offline bambuhiphop

• Hot Shot
Hello All,

I have been lurking around here for a few weeks doing lots of reading and learning. I am new to the world of these old Honda's. I have wanted a bike for years and pulled the trigger this morning. Picked up a 1975 CB550. Hope to start the tear down this weekend. This will be my first bike build so I am looking forward to it. It will be a nice break from my truck. Here are a few pics the previous owner took. I will be sure to post more when I snap some.

And the fun begins  ;D
« Last Edit: April 07, 2024, 04:09:56 pm by bambuhiphop »
75' CB550K -- Still in pieces but it rolls again!!!!

Offline bambuhiphop

• Hot Shot
Re: New project for a first timer CB550 build
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2011, 08:49:51 pm »
Ok, so today was my first day working on the bike. I left my camera cable at work so these pics are from my iphone.

I spent about 2 hours on it. Everything came off very easily so far. Had some issues with the airbox but that was about it. Having an issue with the rear plastic fender. Can seem to figure out how to get it off without breaking it??? How is this done?

Found a bunch of walnut shells in the airbox. So far that has been the only treat. No spiders or anything else as of yet. I am happy with the bike thus far. It seems to be in good shape overall  :)

« Last Edit: August 12, 2015, 09:34:49 pm by bambuhiphop »

Offline Tom in Newcastle......Ontario

• Hot Shot
  • Newcastle Ontario
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2011, 07:12:43 am »
Have fun........

With the plastic inner fender..........kind of pry it towards the middle with a pry bar or flat screw driver.......fenders are pretty tough..

Download yourself a manual makes thing easier       http://forums.sohc4.net/index.php?topic=17788.0

Put your location in your profile...........never know there might be someone near by