Author Topic: Engine Missing While at Cruising Speed (1981 Honda CB650C)  (Read 35791 times)

Offline F16Viper68

• Enthusiast
Engine Missing While at Cruising Speed (1981 Honda CB650C)
« on: January 01, 2012, 08:46:07 pm »
Today I was able to take my first ride on a Honda CB650C I've been working on for the past three months (link in signature).  I noticed while riding that the engine was missing/stumbling when I held a steady speed (2.5k RPM to 3k RPM).  The engine pulls very smooth (strong) when you twist the throttle but as soon as you steady out it starts to stumble a bit.

I've done a lot to this bike but I'll list some of the stuff I've done that could affect the engine performance:

+ New spark plugs
+ Adjusted valves (all but one was tight)
+ Set timing statically and confirmed dynamically
+ Rebuilt the carbs (idle mixture set to 2.5 turns out, sync'ed)
+ Changed the oil
+ New air filter
+ Compression 150 psi across all four cylinders
+ New intake boots/insulators
+ Checked for vacuum leaks (none...now)
+ Verified spark at all four cylinders
+ In my opinion is idles a bit rough and occasionally backfires

Any ideas on where to start or things to look at?  New wires? Coils?

Dave...

Offline grcamna2

• Not a
  • Really Old Timer ...
  • I love to restore & travel. Keep'em Going Strong !
Re: Engine Missing While at Cruising Speed (1981 Honda CB650C)
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2012, 09:07:52 pm »
Possibly lean jetting?(plug color check) or a bit of stuff got into the emulsion tubes or pilot jets? something still in the tank? check the sparkplug resistor caps also.
« Last Edit: January 01, 2012, 09:09:37 pm by grcamna2 »
75' CB400F/'bunch o' parts' & 81' CB125S modded to a 'CB200S'
  I love the small ones too !
Do your BEST...nobody can take that away from you.

Offline F16Viper68

• Enthusiast
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2012, 09:15:46 pm »