Author Topic: 1972 CB500 four restoration  (Read 1364 times)

Offline S papworth

1972 CB500 four restoration
« on: December 19, 2019, 02:11:23 am »
Hi all

I have zero experience at rebuilding any type of motorbike at all let alone riding a road bike .i have ridden dirt bikes as a kid but I wanted to start riding again I was going to get a CB750 and fix up but in Australia you cannot ride anything over a 650 I think by memory when you first get your bike licence so I looked around and picked up a CB500 four. My plan for the bike is a full strip and rebuild back to what it looked like when it came off the show room floor

This is what I am starting with

Offline S papworth

Re: 1972 CB500 four restoration
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2019, 02:50:56 am »
So far I’ve had the bike for a week. When I got it home I gave it a good look over and gave the Kickstarter a kick and it’s free and has a little compression , checked it had some oil and whacked a battery in it , all the electrical system was working so I hit the start button and it built oil pressure and turned the light off on the dash I put a bit of fuel in the carbs, I had to do this as the lines from the tank had perished. I got it to cough and splutter a bit a few times but it wouldn’t keep running so I pulled the plugs and put a compression tester on one and four cylinders and only got 70 on one and 75 on cylinder 4
I should say this bike has sat in a shed for ten years and I am happy with a few coughs coming from the engine. The inside of the tank is in very good nick there is some very light surface rust inside it tho
The frame is straight and has no bad rust spots , the chrome is pitted and has some rust on both front and rear fenders