Author Topic: New to Motogadget - a couple questions  (Read 1136 times)

Offline anotherCB

• Hot Shot
New to Motogadget - a couple questions
« on: November 24, 2020, 06:05:56 pm »
Howdy everyone? As the title states I have little to none experience with Motogadget. I bought a bike that had it already installed by the previous owner. He did a very good job. Everything works, except the Neutral light (I know that the switch is good). I just did a complete engine rebuild and next will be installation of raised clip-ons to get a bit better riding position. Since I have to take the triple tree off, I thought this would be a good opportunity to look into that Neutral light problem.

I downloaded the Motogadget manual (btw the German version is so much better, at least for native speakers  ;)) and I was able to program turn signals and all that stuff by using the wire from the unit to ground.

Now my first question, assuming the wire from the neutral light to the switch is good as well (haven't checked that yet) how do I test the diodes in the Motogadget Mini unit? Those are diodes and not bulbs, right? I think I can check them with the diode setting on the multi-meter, right? But how do I know what the cathode is? Any input appreciated, thanks! Pic of the bike attached.

1978 CB750K, 2016 R1200 GS/LC, 1973 R75/5

Online calj737

• Really Old Timer ...
  • I refuse...
Re: New to Motogadget - a couple questions
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2020, 04:41:27 am »
First order of business would be to test whether the wire from the NEU switch itself is a NEG and not a POS.

I am a bit unclear as to the problem you are describing. Is the NEU light on the cluster not working, or within the MG Mini unit? If the unit itself is misbehaving, then source the wire from the Mini, ground it, then add 12v power source to the Mini input. If the light burns, your problem is the wire from the switch (or the switch itself).

Am I understanding your issue properly?