Author Topic: Front Brake Drag  (Read 5282 times)

Boogerbandit04

Front Brake Drag
« on: June 11, 2008, 02:30:25 pm »
So I have heard this from a few people now that the front brake is notoriously bad at dragging after repeated use, this comming from there always being some pressure asserted on the brakes even after the lever is released. Does anyone know how to correct this issue? I was thinking about upgrading to dual disc in the front off a 750F, but Im still a noob so I would like suggestions first. Thanks in advance.

Boogerbandit04

Re: Front Brake Drag
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2008, 05:54:26 pm »
Im still having this issue. Now the brakes make a slight sqwealing when the brake isnt applied. WHAT THE HELL, I am loosing my mind. Can anyone help?

Offline bradweingartner

• 74 CB 550 x2
  • Hot Shot
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2008, 06:04:18 pm »
What a lot of people don't realize on these older bikes is that the brakes need to be adjusted regularly. The caliper isn't completely free floating. You need to adjust the caliper so the fixed pad is in good proximity to the rotor. As the pad wears you need to adjust it further.

It takes a little tweaking to find the point where it doesn't drag real bad but also doesn't chatter or squeal.

Another issue is if your caliper seal isn't in good shape, the small deformation that causes the seal to pull the piston away from the rotor may not be as significant as you need. This can put a little extra drag on your brakes. A caliper rebuild can make a difference in this department.

Boogerbandit04

« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2008, 06:39:59 pm »
Can you stear me to the parts I would need to rebuild the caliper? I didnt realize I had yo adjust the brake though.

Offline 333

• Time for change
  • Really Old Timer ...
  • Mail List Member #162 - Call me Stan
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2008, 06:41:02 pm »