Author Topic: PD42A Carb Disassembly/Assembly  (Read 30211 times)

Offline futility

PD42A Carb Disassembly/Assembly
« on: April 15, 2015, 06:03:25 pm »
Compared to the earlier model bikes and carbs, information about the late-model '77 and '78s is largely lacking. I figured since I'm tearing down my '78 anyway and definitely couldn't do it without all the knowledge and information found on this forum, I should make an effort to give something back as well. A big thank you goes out to all who have contributed information about these carbs, and I'd also like to give special thanks to punch455 for posting this thread about the PD42As: http://forums.sohc4.net/index.php?topic=48858.0

First of all, a few words of warning:

I do not do this for a living, and still have very much to learn. If I've made a mistake or forgotten anything please let me know so I can fix it!

I strongly recommend the use of quality JIS screwdrivers for carb disassembly, especially if you intend to reuse the stock hardware. The stock screws have the structural integrity of playdough so it's not difficult to strip them with the proper drivers if you aren't careful, nevermind with Phillips drivers. If you intend to replace all of the hardware you can get away with using Phillips drivers, but there's a good chance you'll end up man-handling a few torn up screws out with vice grips (I did before purchasing some Vessel JIS drivers).