Author Topic: Tools... The ones you can't live without  (Read 25436 times)

ethos42

Tools... The ones you can't live without
« on: December 09, 2007, 12:02:23 am »
I've stated it before, and I'll state it again. I'm fairly new to wrenching, and I'm just getting my tool chest started. I have a pretty good collection of socket wrenches, basic multi-tip screwdriver, hammers, needle-nose pliers, vice grips, dremel, corded and cordless drills, compressor with VERY basic attachments, etc.

I see mention of people talking about measuring things to see if they are within tolerance, Grinding tabs off the frame, etc.

What kind of tools do you keep in your shop besides the basics? What would you suggest as high priority items you couldn't imagine not having when working on these old bike? I'm getting ready to do the full rebuild of the engine and would like to know what kind of tools I should expect to be using before I get too deep into it and have to stop to go buy a special tool to measure/remove/repair something.

EDIT: I modified the title a little bit, the direction of the thread changed to a more useful topic, tools other than the basic set that you have bought and found to be very usefull. Or tools you have created to help in your wrenching.
« Last Edit: December 10, 2007, 03:31:23 pm by ethos42 »

Offline malcolmgb

• What am I not? an
  • Expert
  • The BEST 400 four by far
    • malcnet
Re: Tools...
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2007, 09:42:00 am »
Personally I would start your rebuild and buy the tool as the need arose, I know this isn't the answer you perhaps wanted, but you appear to have got all the essentials, although I notice you do not mention spanners (wrenches) and add an impact driver for any stubborn cross head screws.

These bikes are quite basic by today's standards and would have been repaired in their day by what you have.
Just my view but I am sure others will disagree.

I started 40 years ago and still cannot resist buying more  ;)
Malcolm