Author Topic: 78 CB750 F SS cafe racer build  (Read 28960 times)

Offline deftone

78 CB750 F SS cafe racer build
« on: February 08, 2008, 07:41:13 pm »
okay so i am a bit of a newb to the cb750 world but i am willing to learn...i picked up a 78 CB750 SS a month or so ago and it was in need of much help...i was given mostly everything in boxes....i have a bunch of questions listed below...so for starters before i get going on making the thing how i want it i decided it to be a good idea to get her up and running....

i first took apart the entire carburator and cleaned the whole thing up....part of the linking arm was rusted so i had a bit of problem getting 2 of the carbs off...but i did it and soaked everything overnight one carb at a time in gunk carb cleaner...put it all back together without buying a rebuild kit just to make sure it would work.....i then did a bench sync as found on this very helpful site and installed the carbs back on the bike (what a pain this was trying to get all 4 boots to seal)

next i had a friend come over and we went through the wiring harness to find out it is in really ruff shape but we were able to jump a few wires(i have no key) and grounds and were able to get it to act like it want to start....we took the starter out and it was kind of stuck so we messed with it for a while and she broke free and started working like a champ....put it back in, gave her same gas, put the headers on (since that is all i have), put some oil in and bingo she fired up....whooohoooo.....the engine sounded pretty good, the bench sync was a good starting point, and after she was warm she even idled nicely....however the transmission does not work...when in neutral the front sprocket sits idle and you can spin it by hand and it moves freely(i do not have the chain on right now)....then i can put it in gear(not using the clutch since i do not have a cable) and get the same situation as in neutral....bummer

so here are my questions: