Author Topic: Advice on buying a CB750  (Read 4733 times)

Offline NP3

Advice on buying a CB750
« on: September 28, 2011, 01:35:17 pm »
Hey everyone,

I've been reading the posts and various materials on this site and have been impressed with the amount of member's knowledge, support, and resources.  So, I want in! I've been considering building a cafe racer for some time now, and I think starting with a Honda CB platform makes perfect sense.

I've always been mechanically inclined, although it's not what I do for a living.  I think with the little knowledge I have, the ambition, and the help of everyone here, I can accomplish what I'm after.

I have been searching for a CB to purchase and found an add of someone selling a '76 CB750K near my area.  The add states that the bike was purchased from the original owner, engine doesn't turn over, and have title in hand.  The price is $500.

From the pictures, the bike actually doesn't look like it's in bad shape.  Little visible rust, all the parts are there, and needs a new seat.  My concern is "engine doesn't turn over".  I'm guessing this means it is seized.  I have full intentions of rebuilding the motor, but is there anything I should be aware of; anything that is common and irreperable when it comes to seized CB motors?  Obviously, no deal if a connecting rod is hanging out of the side of the motor, but is there anything that is less obvious?  Anything else in general that I should look out for that might make this a deal breaker.

Thanks,

Nik
1978 Honda CB750K
2009 Yamaha R6

Offline phil71

• Master
Re: Advice on buying a CB750
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2011, 02:20:38 pm »